Nairobi!

God, the internet is so slow. Doesn’t look like I will be able to do as much blogging as I thought I would. Or do my job properly. I was planning to build a site for the organisaton that I am working for using the open source CMS Joomla, but with the internet this slow I don’t think that I will be able to work directly of a server. Old fashioned HTML and CSS it will have to be.

Nairobi is really cold and rainy. I’ve got a wool jumper on in the office and I am still cold. Wasn’t expecting that, I hope it improves. I am living with a British girl called Laura in a two-bed apartment in a secure compound. There is a swimming pool (too cold to swim), cable tv (from India – not in English) and wireless internet (doesn’t work). Not much else.  Thank god (lol) for Richard Dawkins – The God Delusion.

Our conclusion is that we need a car. Apparenly you can get a decent one for about 400,000ksh (£3000, 40,000kr). Hmmm…I wonder were we could get that kind of money from? I suppose if we did get the money we could sell at the end of the six months and get most of the money back.

Today we are going to visit a project in one of Africa’s largest slums, Kibera. I’m bringing my camera so hopefully I will be able to get some photos.

1 Comment

  1. Sounds like you have gone back to the dark ages…actually sounds alot like are flat at the moment, the wireless isnt working and you have to put on every jumper you own if you wanna watch a film in the top room. Heating just doesnt work in 1930’s London flats.
    We dont have tv either so…welcome to the club.

    Whether here is really cold, i got my flat cap out and look like im running a fruit and veg stall in stockwell not a studio in north lonfon.

    do you miss english tea yet?
    davo xxx


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

