One of those days

I start off this morning by trying to figure out why Internet Explorer 6 insists on showing bullet points in the subnavigation of a site I’m doing, despite list-style-type: none. After much swearing, dreaming up ingenius ways of killing the developers at Microsoft who refuse to embrace web standards, and trying the same thing hundreds of times I discover that the page doesn’t refresh in Internet Explorer. I try shutting it down and restarting. Still the same. I try resetting the cache. Still the same. I try restarting the computer. Nothing, the same page, without the changes, still loads. At that point I am forced to give up or risk having to buy work a new computer.

The moment I close down Internet Explorer Kaspersky Antivirus pops up saying I have a virus called Worm VBS Pauk A. Great. I start a complete virus scan which has been slowing down my computer something chronic for the last three hours. 20 viruses found. Luckily Kaspersky manages to delete them all.

I then decide to come up with a business card design for the organisation. All is going well until I import it into InDesign to do some text. For some reason the 55x85mm card does not fit into the 55x85mm InDesign page. WTF??? I start over. Same thing happens again. Is the problem with InDesign or Photoshop? Only one way to find out – print it out and see. I don’t have printer in my office, so I save a JPG on a memory stick and print it on another computer. Too big. Ok, it’s Photoshop I think and start over again, making it smaller. Once again I save it on the memory stick, go to the office next door and print. Too small! I have to restrain myself and instead go and make a cup of tea. Eventually I realise that the weird image-editing software on that computer (Corel I think) automatically scales images when you print them. It was fine all along! The problem lies with InDesign which automatically adds a margin, making my design look too big. Great.

At this point I completely give up on work and decide to play on the internet. And find the funniest blog entry ever. The day is saved. (Apologies to non-Swedish speakers).

Ps. The enter key on my keyboard is not working for ‘pressing buttons’ on the web. Weird. Maybe those viruses didn’t disappear after all.

2 Comments

  1. You really are a geek. You rockanrolling and punking and garaging lied to me . Be a man an embrance your true colours by wearing 80’s styles glasses (no, spectacles) and white socks with shiny black shoes. You know you want to…

  2. VistaPrint prints out of the country and the quality of their products are cheap. XpressPrint has really great quality business cards. Check it out.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

