The Modern Lovers

I went for a pint with Davo last night and as so often happens the conversation turned to music. As has become my habit over the last couple of years, I embarked on a long moan about the poor state of indie music at the moment, how British music is suffering from a post-Libertines hangover, how the only decent band out there is the Black Lips, etc etc, blah blah.

‘Have you heard the Modern Lovers and Jonathan Richman?’ Davo says, ‘fair enough, they’re from the 70’s, but they have this awesome song called Pablo Picasso and I really think you should check them out.’

And, so now I am. And he’s right. They are great.

How could I not have heard this band before?

Update: I have heard this band before, they’re on one of my Bomp Records compilation albums with ‘She Cracked’. Of course, they had to be on Bomp Records.

Roadrunner

Pablo Picasso

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

