Ever heard of Jacques Dutronc?

Regular readers of this blog will be aware of my love for the American garage punk band the Black Lips. A couple of weeks ago I was at the Dirty Water Club talking to a very drunk Belgian about music and expressed my love of the Black Lips ‘Hippie Hippie Hourrah’.

‘The Black Lips?’, he said. ‘No, that song isn’t by the Black Lips. It’s a cover of a Jacques Dutronc song!’

‘Jacques who?’, I said and he grabbed a pen from the barmaid and scribbled it down on the back of an old receipt.

A receipt which I just found in my wallet.

And, oh yes, the song is by him.

Video of Jacques Dutronc performing Hippie Hippie Hourrah in 1967

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

