How to get a free beer

I’m walking down a narrow street, watching out for cows, motorbikes and women with massive loads on their heads. Suddenly, a very short man with a huge smile stops me.

‘Your country sir?’

‘Sweden’, I say reflexively.

‘How long in India?’

‘I’ve been here one week and I’ve got 2.5 months left’. I give the same answer I’ve given to 10 other guys that day.

‘You going Jaisalmer?’

‘Yes, next week’.

‘Ok, if you see me in Jaisalmer, you buy me a beer, ok?’

I agree and don’t think about it again. Days later I’m in Ghandi Chowk in Jaisalmer, having travelled halfway through Rajasthan. Suddenly, I look down and see the same smile.

‘You buy me one beer, isn’t it?’

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

